The British Construction Equipment Forum  

Go Back   The British Construction Equipment Forum > EQUIPMENT > Technical Q&A


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1   IP: 81.5.170.29
Old 19-06-2018, 09:33 PM
grahams grahams is offline
Master of the Ninth Arch
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southampton
Posts: 1,871
Default 3 phase risk assessment

Iím considering buying a new sieve that is powered by a 3 phase, 400v 3kw motor. It comes with its own 3 phase generator. Iíve only used 110v or battery powered stuff on site before.
Does anyone have a site risk assessment I could look at or advise in general about using 3 phase on site?
Thanks
Graham
Reply With Quote
  #2   IP: 90.255.22.46
Old 20-06-2018, 06:38 AM
OllieGunns's Avatar
OllieGunns OllieGunns is offline
Intendant of the Building
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 344
Default Re: 3 phase risk assessment

I don't know of a specific risk assessment for 3 phase but it must be possible as we used to use it all the time for the Silos, lifts in flats, tower cranes etc.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #3   IP: 86.144.226.86
Old 20-06-2018, 04:50 PM
V8Druid's Avatar
V8Druid V8Druid is offline
Knight of the Rose Croix of H.R.D.M
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Druid central, just East of Pandy, Nr. Abergavenny, S. Wales, UK, 3rd rock from the Sun
Posts: 14,996
Default Re: 3 phase risk assessment

properly installed I see no reason it'd be an issue Gra, especially as it's virtually self contained with it's own power source
.... plenty of ip67 rated connectors or simply hard wired into the genny.
RCD breaker in the genny'd cover issues and ditto for emergency stops

done competently, job's a good un
as said ... site tower cranes are usually 3ph
__________________
If it's got tracks, wheels, t*ts, or an engine, at some point it's gonna give you trouble!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #4   IP: 81.5.170.29
Old 20-06-2018, 08:06 PM
grahams grahams is offline
Master of the Ninth Arch
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southampton
Posts: 1,871
Default Re: 3 phase risk assessment

It didnít strike me as insurmountable, but I wondered if anyone had been down this route before.
Graham
Reply With Quote
  #5   IP: 31.53.19.13
Old 21-06-2018, 10:27 PM
quattromike quattromike is offline
Intendant of the Building
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Speyside
Posts: 331
Default Re: 3 phase risk assessment

You would need to make sure it has been checked and signed off by a qualified electrician kinda like pat testing but I'm sure it's called something else. We use a Lincoln vantage on site quite a bit and we're always asked for a test/calibration ticket and it's to be in a bunded. No idea why this would need to be bunded but everything else is bombing about site in bunded
__________________
At the end of the day it's going to get very dark!
Reply With Quote
  #6   IP: 86.144.226.86
Old 22-06-2018, 01:15 AM
V8Druid's Avatar
V8Druid V8Druid is offline
Knight of the Rose Croix of H.R.D.M
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Druid central, just East of Pandy, Nr. Abergavenny, S. Wales, UK, 3rd rock from the Sun
Posts: 14,996
Default Re: 3 phase risk assessment

Quote:
Originally Posted by quattromike View Post
You would need to make sure it has been checked and signed off by a qualified electrician kinda like pat testing but I'm sure it's called something else. We use a Lincoln vantage on site quite a bit and we're always asked for a test/calibration ticket and it's to be in a bunded. No idea why this would need to be bunded but everything else is bombing about site in bunded
it needs to be bunded probably because it's 'unattended' ... where as the other gear " bombing about site" is all attended not as most of 'em'd notice if the sky fell on 'em, let alone sprung a diesel/oil leak
__________________
If it's got tracks, wheels, t*ts, or an engine, at some point it's gonna give you trouble!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

 
Partner Links



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.